Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Day 2. Arriving in Switzerland and was that Heidi I saw on the video screen?

Early morning and nearing Zurich, the breakfast provided was much bigger than I have a home. I ate it all in the knowledge I wouldn’t have to squeeze into a life jacket. The plane arrived at the terminal and we disembarked. I decided to follow my fellow passengers as they have been speaking German throughout the flight so I assumed they were locals. Also seemed to know where they were going. We journeyed to the inter-terminal train station for the trip, I discovered to Baggage Collection, Immigration and Customs building. As the train sped its way between the buildings, cows could be heard mooing and on a screen mounted on the tunnel’s wall, a beautiful brunette appeared. Was this the grown up Heidi? She blew a loving kiss at ALL OF US on the train. I am taken aback, could this brazen woman be Heidi? No way, as the Heidi I remembered would never have done this! So the search would continue.

I gathered ‘my life’s possessions in a backpack’, cleared Immigration and Customs. I had arrived in Switzerland.

I easily found the train station, it was across the road. I had pre-purchased my ticket as I was a Stranger in a Strange Land. I found it not to be such a Strange land as everything had English subtitles and announcements are made in German and English.

The Railway station at the airport is called Zürich-Flughafen. I found my platform from the four on offer and remembered the train number. This is important as it makes rail travel in Switzerland so easy. I boarded my train and set my watch by the departure time of the train for as we know Swiss Rail runs like clockwork.

My hotel was near the Old Town Centre and the closest station was Zurich Stadelhofen which was just past (by train) the main station, Zurich HB. With my life’s possessions on my back, I took the 8 minute walk to Hotel Helmhaus.

Nicole, a charming German lady was on the reception. The rooms are compact which was understandable considering the age of the building. They are well appointed with mine having European twins and a sofa/bed. The twin beds are next to each other and look like a double. My MALE travelling companion was coming from London and had not yet arrived. We are friends but sleeping that close together is not going to happen. Nicole arranged for the sofa bed to be set up. There are also double, twin and single rooms. The single rooms I discovered, are in most of the hotels I was to visit. The Hotel Helmhaus reminded me more of a guesthouse due the size, layout and friendliness of all the staff I met. The Manager, Andre proudly told me the history of HIS hotel. Something I was to discover is they all have small elevators.

 

Next time, Day 2 continues as I discover what happens at 11:11 am on the 11th day of the 11th Month each year.