Tags

, , , , , ,

This is my first in a series of posts about the trip I took with a friend to Switzerland in November 2009. Being a newbie to posting I am sure, dear reader you will excuse any typos and techno stuff ups.

Day 1. Under way from Sydney to Zurich via Singapore Airlines.

The first question you may ask is why Singapore Airlines, for years they have been telling me ‘they are a great way to fly!’ I have travelled on the ‘you do not pay for what you don’t what airlines’ but find it uncomfortable having the cabin crew constantly reach into my pocket to get my wallet. So I thought I would see if Singapore Airlines was good for their word.

I did all the formalities of getting from the check in counter to the departure lounge then boarding. Unfortunately I  turned right as I entered the plane and walk what felt like the length of it. I was thankful it wasn’t one of those new big planes (Airbus A380) ! So I sat myself down in a seat bigger than I had expected. I could actually move my knees. A quick check of the seat amenities. A power supply for the laptop in the armrest, a little screen facing me from the back of the seat in front. I found the guide on how to operate the on board AV and what was on offer.

New Movies, cool. I had forgotten about this! I had brought my own headphones with noise cancelling as a friend had suggested. Everyone had taken their seats and we learnt what to do in an emergency. I thought to myself, I hope I can get that little lifejacket around my fuller frame as easily as that slightly built Flight Attendant could. We taxied away from the terminal and we were soon on our way to Singapore. I settled back to check out the movies I had wanted to see.

I rediscovered air travel as it was.

I was politely asked if I would like a drink, the menu offered ‘Singapore Sling’, how else would one experience the culture? Warning, its a very sweet drink, I can only assume its not the national drink as Singaporeans are not known for their weight issues, diabetes or pimples. A delicious meal came next.

The hours passed as I watched the movies, only interrupted by offers of fruit juices and water, OK they did also offer some alcoholic beverages. The crew’s hospitality made I feel like I was at  friend’s house. Singapore airport is quite big. So big, they have to operate trains between the terminals. The terminal for my connecting flight even had a train just in it! I found the boarding lounge and had a repeat experience to Zurich of that from Sydney to Singapore.

Next installment, Arriving in Switzerland and was that Heidi I saw on the video screen?

To find out where this trip really started go to:

Switzerland Holidays